thoughts after seven months

3

October 13, 2013 by narvyspeaks

Thoughts about my identity have been brewing since July, and in the past month have crystallized in a new way for me.

It was a phone conversation that did it.  It was a fine chat.  The person I was talking with sounded happy; I might have sounded happy (I don’t know – it’s hard to tell how I come across to other people…).

But after I hung up I had a yucky feeling in my guts, as well as a thought that I have had before.  It’s the thought that creeps in when someone messages me on Facebook and uses too many exclamation points, or when I visit with someone for a couple of hours and my son (or my motherhood) never comes up in the conversation, or when I talk on the phone with a friend or family member and they sound so darn happy and don’t ask about how I’m doing.

Not that I need the focus to be on me, or that all I want to talk about is my little boy.  I don’t, and anyway, that’s not the point.

The point is that these exchanges make me wonder…was my loss on their mind as we talked?’  Because the truth is, it is always on mine.  Oh, it ends up back in the corners of my consciousness sometimes, and it’s not always front and center, but really, it’s never gone.  I am always aware that I have a son…that my family has a hole in it…that there is a deep sadness in me…and that my whole life has been rocked in the recent past.  It’s who I am.  You can’t have me without my loss.  There’s no ME without the loss.  And I don’t know if people get that.  I don’t know if they understand just how deeply my Zeke has changed me.  I don’t know if they realize that my identity as a mom whose child is with Jesus is such a complex thing.  I don’t know if they know that I’m happy, but not all happy.  That I may be working at jobs that I enjoy but feel a significant lack, nonetheless.  That I can rejoice with them in their children, but am unable to fully engage.

I guess I just didn’t realize until recently that LOSS has been etched so indelibly into my life and that, while others move on and perhaps don’t automatically think of what’s missing from me, more than ever I sense how rooted the loss is in my view of myself.  I feel sad, and strong, and weak, and old.

 

 

3 thoughts on “thoughts after seven months

  1. Sabrina says:

    I love you Annette, I pray that god will keep helping you and god please bless mike an Annette an little zeke.

  2. Sabrina says:

    Annette you are…

    God’s beautiful daughter
    Beautiful
    Worthy
    Smart
    Caring
    YOUNG
    Funny
    Courageous
    Sensitive
    Giving
    Patient
    Kind
    Loving
    Talented
    Musical
    Compassionate

    I could go on for pages Annette don’t forget just truly who you really are, even through times that are so unexplainable people care an People are always thinking of you an mike and zeke. Don’t ever think that life has just went on and that you are alone an everybody has forgotten. No matter where everyone is living or whoever has any kind of a connection with you and mike, you are thought of. Sorry for my terrible spelling an English I just want to let you know that you are loved an thought of by many many many many people.

  3. TABBY WIEBE says:

    Annette, I marvel at how God is helping you through. I am most challenged by your boldness in being honest in how things are actually going. No one can remove the pain and in truth no one wants to. Thank you for the reminder to us as friends to not avoid the loss you and Mike have experienced. It is always difficult to figure out if people that have experienced such deep loss want to talk about it.
    Praying that the God of all Grace and Peace surround you with all that you have need for this day as you continue to mourn the loss of Zeke.
    Love, Tabby

Leave a comment

fortshehanechronicles

Just another WordPress.com site

Hey Marty

"...nobody has two television sets."